Step Right Up!

THE YANKEE DOODLE CIRCUS

IS IN TOWN

September 2017

Firehouse Theatre will be transformed into a big top and midway when it hosts a variety of events in September under the banner of the YANKEE DOODLE CIRCUS, which is the name of the circus troupe that gets stranded in Vinton, Indiana in Bo Wilson's new play FOOD, CLOTHING, AND SHELTER. Other September events include magician David London's MAGIC OUTSIDE THE BOX and THE ADVENTURE TO THE IMAGI NATIONBANK NIGHT MAGIC with the Richmond ring of the International Brotherhood of Magicians, magicians Brian Curry and Mark Phillips' CATCH ME: THE MAGIC DUEL, Brian Curry's MAGIC AND MISCHIEF, plus WORDS ON FIRE: HAPPY HOUR POETRY.


Bo Wilson wrote FOOD, CLOTHING, AND SHELTER as part of his year-long residency at Firehouse Theatre. The play is set in the summer of 1927 when the Yankee Doodle Circus train derails outside of Vinton, Indiana -- leaving the company stranded and without access to their possessions until the train can be put back on the tracks. The three interconnected "one-acts" that are at the center of the play revolve around different members of the circus troupe trying to get their basic needs of food, clothing, and shelter met by the townspeople of this small Midwestern town. A special feature of the production is that sideshow performers will be busking throughout Firehouse. Joel Bassin directs the world-premiere of FOOD, CLOTHING, AND SHELTER for a limited run from September 6 through September 17, 2017 (full schedule and company listed below).

Baltimore-based magician David London returns to Firehouse after his sold-out performances in our previous two seasons with two different shows -- MAGIC OUTSIDE THE BOX on Friday September 8, Saturday September 9, Sunday September 10, and Sunday September 24, 2017; and a free family magic show titled THE ADVENTURE TO THE IMAGI NATION on Saturday September 9.

The International Brotherhood of Magicians will present BANK NIGHT MAGIC on Tuesday September 19, 2017 at 7:30pm. Bank Night (also known as "Just Chance" and "The Lucky Magician") refers to a popular trick where four envelopes are shown to the audience and the magician places a $20 bill in one of them. Three of the envelopes are given to audience members. They can switch envelopes with each other or with the magician who has held on to the fourth envelope. The trick ends when the audience opens up their envelopes to find that they contain only a folded piece of paper, and the magicians envelope has the $20 bill. In this version of BANK NIGHT we'll be raffling off $100 cash to one lucky audience member at the end of the performance.

Washington D.C.-based award-winning magicians Brian Curry and Mark Phillips make their RVA debut with their innovative magic show CATCH ME: THE MAGIC DUEL. The premise of the show is that these two master magicians are competing for the title of "Favorite RVA Magician." The audience measures their ability by selecting different types of magic for them to perform and then gets to vote on which magician is best. CATCH ME on Thursday September 21, 7:30pm, Fri September 22, and Saturday September 23. Brain Curry will also present MAGIC AND MISCHIEF as a free family magic show on Saturday September 23.

Additional September performances include staples of Firehouse Fringe programming including WORDS ON FIRE: HAPPY HOUR POETRY on Tuesday September 12 that includes a featured local poet and open mic, PLAY READING ROUNDTABLE on Wednesday, September 20, and Billy Christopher Maupin's MY FAVORITE RICHMOND LEADING LADIES on Monday September 25. 


SCHEDULE OF ATTRACTIONS

FOOD, CLOTHING, AND SHELTER
by Bo Wilson
Wed, Sept 6 @ 7:30pm (preview)
Thu, Sept 7 @ 7:30pm (press opening)
Sun, Sept 10 @ 7:30pm
Wed, Sept 13 @ 7:30pm
Thu, Sept 14 @ 7:30pm
Fri, Sept 15 @ 7:30pm
Sun, Sept 17 @ 3pm

 

DAVID LONDON'S
MAGIC OUTSIDE THE BOX

Fri, Sept 8 @ 8pm
Sat, Sept 9 @ 8pm
Sun, Sept 10 @ 3pm
Sun, Sept 24 @ 3pm


DAVID LONDON'S FREE FAMILY MAGIC SHOW
THE ADVENTURE TO THE IMAGI NATION

Sat, Sept 9 @ 11am

WORDS ON FIRE: HAPPY HOUR POETRY
Tue, Sept. 12 @ 6pm

 

BANK NIGHT MAGIC

Tue, Sep 19 @ 7:30pm

PLAY READING ROUNDTABLE

The Skin of Our Teeth

Wed, Sept 20 @ 5:45pm


BRIAN CURRY AND MARK PHILLIPS'
CATCH ME: THE MAGIC DUEL

Thu, Sept 21 @ 8pm
Fri, Sept 22 @ 8pm
Sat, Sept 23 @ 8pm

BRIAN CURRY'S FREE FAMILY MAGIC SHOW
MAGIC AND MISCHIEF

Sat, Sept 23 @ 11am

MY FAVORITE RICHMOND LEADING LADIES
Mon, Sept 25 @ 7:30pm

© COPYRIGHT 2017. FIREHOUSE THEATRE PROJECT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Firehouse Theatre / 1609 W. Broad St, Richmond, VA 23220 / 804.355.2001 / info@firehousetheatre.org

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Instagram Icon