WAR IN PIECES festival

world premieres

new plays by David Aldridge, Rachel Landsee, Robert Waldruff, Charles Williamson

in partnership with Virginia War Memorial Foundation and Mighty Pen Project

Sept 23 - Oct 30, 2021

click here to purchase tickets

A one-act festival featuring four new plays written by military veterans about tipping-point moments in their lives when they could have been killed or died.

David Aldridge takes us on a ride to a crossroads, when time stops and a choice is made in BONNE ANNÉE; Rachel Landsee uses music and fantasy to create a surreal battleground where the knowns of military life collide with the unknowns of life outside the military in SOAR; Robert Waldruff drops us into a hot zone in Vietnam where a mysterious rescue raises more questions than it answers in GUARDIAN ANGELS; and Chuck Williamson invites us to join a group of soldiers at the moment when their world is flipped upside down in SKYLINE.

We're requiring all audience members to be fully vaccinated and to wear face masks in Firehouse

Performers:

Linda Beringer

Alvan Bolling II

Dani Brown

Erik DeMario

Keydron Dunn

Jonathan Hardison

Dean Knight

Irene Kuykendall

Jimmy Mello

Makai Walker

Production Team:

Joel Bassin - Director BONNE ANNÉE

Todd Labelle - Director SKYLINE

​​Foster Solomon - Director GUARDIAN ANGELS

Kerrigan Sullivan - Director SOAR

Lindy Bumgarner - Dramaturg

Dasia Gregg - Set + Projection Consultant

Anna Bialkowski - Costume Designer

Andrew Bonniwell - Lighting Designer

Mark Messing - Sound Designer

Kayla Xavier - Choreographer for SOAR

David L. Robbins - Co-Producer

Emma Avelis, Kasey Britt, Claire Bronchick,

    Grace Brown, Emily Vial - Stage Managers

Performance Schedule:

Thu Sep 23 @ 7:30pm

Fri Sep 24 @ 7:30pm

Sat Sep 25 @ 7:30pm

Thu Sep 30 @ 7:30pm

Fri Oct 1 @ 7:30pm

Sat Oct 2 @ 7:30pm

Sun Oct 3 @ 3pm (+post performance talkback)

Thu Oct 14 @ 7:30pm

Fri Oct 15 @ 7:30pm

Sat Oct 16 @ 7:30pm

Sun Oct 17 @ 3pm (+post performance talkback)

Thu Oct 21 @ 7:30pm

Fri Oct 22 @ 7:30pm

Sat Oct 23 @ 7:30pm

Sun Oct 24 @ 3pm (+post performance talkback)

Thu Oct 28 @ 7:30pm

Fri Oct 29 @ 7:30pm

Sat Oct 30 @ 7:30pm

Tickets:

$35 general / $30 military

(please call 804.355.2001 if you're a veteran who needs financial assistance to attend a performance)

click here to purchase tickets

WarinPieces_low res-02.jpg

Produced in partnership with

vwm logo.png
mighty pen logo.jpg