​world premiere

WALLED IN

a new play by Andrew Gall

with material adapted from Henry David Thoreau's Walden

Directed by Andrew Gall

Performed by Doug Blackburn

Thu May 27-Sat June 26, 2021

 

Lester has played the game well all his life. At 68 years old he's amassed the rewards of privilege and power that befit his station as a high powered lobbyist, political consultant, and corporate lawyer. In an unexpected turn of the wheel of fortune and with insinuations from people at the top of the food chain of a quick trial, no jail time, and a pardon, Lester agrees to take the fall for his team and keep his mouth shut about some dubious activities. When Lester ends up behind bars with a mop and bucket cleaning the prison bathrooms at the beginning of a very punitive sentence that will keep him locked up for the rest of his life, he starts demanding some action from his powerful friends. Before he can say "MAGA" and by order of the DOJ he's reassigned to be a student in the prison education program. As his life outside falls apart and he discovers how fleeting loyalty and promises are, he has to complete reading and writing assignments from Walden; or, Life in the Woods and is drawn kicking and screaming into the transcendental vision of Henry David Thoreau's contemplation of solitude and spirituality.

WARNING: This play contains very strong language that some may find offensive/obscene.

Production Team:

Written and directed by Andrew Gall

Performed by Doug Blackburn

Featuring the voices of Todd Labelle and Rudy Mitchell

Sound Designer - Mark Messing

Costume Designer - Colin Lowrey II

Production Designer - Todd Labelle

Assistant Director - Grace Brown

Production Associate - Claire Bronchick

Stage Manager - Kasey Britt

Performance Schedule:

Thu, May 27 @ 7:30pm

Fri, May 28 @ 7:30pm

Sat, May 29@ 7:30pm

Thu, June 3 @ 7:30pm

Fri, June 4 @ 7:30pm

Sat, June 5 @ 7:30pm

Sun, June 6 @ 3:00pm

Thu, June 10 @ 7:30pm

Fri, June 11 @ 7:30pm

Sat, June 12 @ 7:30pm

Sun, June 13 @ 3:00pm

Thu, June 17 @ 7:30pm

Fri, June 18 @ 7:30pm (live + live stream)

Sat, June 19 @ 7:30pm (live + live stream)

Sun, June 20 @ 3:00pm (live + live stream)

Thu, June 24 @ 7:30pm

Fri, June 25 @ 7:30pm

Sat, June 26, 7:30pm

Tickets:

$33 live and live stream 

click here for tickets to a live performance at Firehouse

click here for a stream pass to one of our 3 live streams

(6/18, 6/19, 6/20)