GABRIEL

world premiere

a new musical

Book by Jerold Solomon, Foster Solomon, and Ron Klipp

Music & Lyrics by Ron Klipp

directed by Foster Solomon

musical direction by Billy Dye

Thu September 8 - October 2, 2022 

click here for tickets

What do you know about Black History, or what do you think you know? The Civil Rights Movement didn't start with Black Lives Matter, the March on Washington, or the Civil War.

Set in the summer of 1800, GABRIEL tells the story of the biggest planned slave revolution in Virginia history. The rebellion would have overthrown the entire state government and bring freedom to thousands. Based on the true and little known Richmond story, this world premiere musical portrays the state-wide insurrection led by Gabriel, a literate blacksmith enslaved on Thomas Prosser's tobacco plantation in Henrico. Never heard of him? Then come find out why his story has been lost, buried, and forgotten.

​"EVERY DAY BRINGS ME CLOSER
TO WHAT I WANT AND WHERE I’LL BE.
BRINGIN’ ME CLOSER
TO BEIN’ FREE."

Performance Schedule:

Thu Sept 8 @ 7:30pm (preview)

Fri Sept 9 @ 7:30pm (preview)

Sat Sept 10 @ 7:30pm

Fri Sept 16 @ 7:30pm

Sat Sept 17 @ 7:30pm

Sun Sept 18 @ 3pm

Fri Sept 23 @ 7:30pm

Sat Sept 24 @ 7:30pm

Sun Sept 25 @ 3pm

Fri Sept 30 @ 7:30pm

Sat Oct 1 @ 7:30pm

Sun Oct 2 @ 3pm

Tickets: $38 general admission / $25 students

click here for tickets

 

 

We're requiring all audience members to be fully vaccinated and to wear face masks in Firehouse.

G_FullPostersmall.jpg
nea logo.png
VCA_Logo_Square_edited.png